Mundaka Upanishad

January 24, 2008 at 5:43 pm Leave a comment

The Muṇḍaka Upanishad is one of the older, “primary” (mukhya) Upanishads commented upon by Adi Shankara. It is associated with the Atharvaveda. It figures as number 5 in the Muktika canon of 108 Upanishads.

This Upanishad divides all knowledge into two categories. The knowledge that leads to Self Realization is called Para Vidya or Divine Knowledge and everything else is called Apara Vidya or Knowledge of Material world. It is the first text to mention the six disciplines of Vedanga.

More Info: Mundaka Upanishad


Entry filed under: 108 Upanishads, advaita vedanta, advaita vedanta philosophy, Mundaka Upanishad, Upanishads.

Theory of creation according to Advaita Vedanta Philosophy Status of the world according to Advaita Vedanta

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Top Posts

%d bloggers like this: