Dialog between Maitreyi and Yajnavalkya from Brihadaranyaka Upanishad.

March 5, 2008 at 8:50 am Leave a comment

The Dialog between Maitreyi and Yajnavalkya exploring the nature of Bhrahman as non-dual, all-inclusive and absolute, is an inspiring episode from Brihadaranyaka Upanishad.

The sage Yajnavalkya had two wives: Maitreyi and Katyayani. Of these, Maitreyi was conversant with the Knowledge of Brahman, while Katyayani had an essentially feminine outlook.

One day Yajnavalkya, when he wished to embrace another mode of life, said: “Maitreyi, my dear, I am going to renounce this life to become a monk. Let me make a final settlement between you and Katyayani.”

Maitreyi said: “Venerable Sir, if indeed the whole earth full of wealth belonged to me, would I be immortal through that or not?” “No,” replied Yajnavalkya, “your life would be just like that of people who have plenty. Of Immortality, however, there is no hope through wealth.” Then Maitreyi said: “What should I do with that which would not make me immortal? Tell me, venerable Sir, of that alone which you know to be the only means of attaining Immortality.”

Yajnavalkya replied: “My dear, you have been my beloved even before and now you have resolved to know what is after my heart. If you wish, my dear, I shall explain it to you. As I explain it, meditate on what I say.”

Read More: Dialog between Maitreyi and Yajnavalkya from Brihadaranyaka Upanishad.

Entry filed under: 108 Upanishads, advaita, advaita institutions, advaita philosophy, advaita vedanta, Brihadaranyaka Upanishad, Yajnavalkya. Tags: .

Vivekachudamani – An Advaitic Prakarana Grantha of Shankaracharya Brihadaranyaka Upanishad

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



